Follow us

Exams & Colleges
Contact Us

Follow us


Mentors from here : 2
Selections in here : 0

Our Selection List:

Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science (IACS) is a public, deemed, research university for higher education and research in basic sciences under the Department of Science & Technology, Government of India, situated at the heart of the Cultural capital of India. Established in 1876 by Mahendralal Sarkar, a private medical practitioner, it focuses on fundamental research in basic sciences. It is Asia's oldest research institute Located at Jadavpur, South Kolkata near Jadavpur University, Central Glass and Ceramic Research Institute and Indian Institute of Chemical Biology. It is spread over a limited area of 9.5 acres and currently in the process of building a super-advanced SMART campus at Baruipur.

The association is engaged in research in various fields of physics, chemistry, biological sciences, mathematical and computational sciences, materials sciences and various interdisciplinary areas.

Indian Journal of Physics (IJP)

Indian Journal of Physics was founded in 1926. It is published monthly.  Springer distributes print version of the Journal worldwide. The present chief editor of the journal is Prof. Subham Majumdar, who is a senior professor in the School of Physical Sciences, IACS.

Second Campus (Offshore Campus at Baruipur)

Union Minister of Science and Technology, Dr. Harsha Vardhan unveiled the foundation stone of the Syamaprasad Mukherjee Advanced Research and Training (SMART) campus of Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science(IACS) at Baruipur. It will have the facilities for cutting-edge research in multiple disciplines such as fundamental sciences, engineering sciences and medical sciences.

Academic Divisions

Starting from 2018, after being declared as a deemed university by MHRD, for academic purposes, departments and centres in the Institute are broadly assigned to six major schools, each headed by a Chairperson (School Chair):

  1. School of Applied and Interdisciplinary Sciences (SAIS)
  2. School of Biological Sciences (SBS)
  3. School of Chemical Sciences (SCS)
  4. School of Materials Sciences (SMS)
  5. School of Mathematical and Computational Sciences (SMCS)
  6. School of Physical Sciences (SPS)

Apart from these 6 major schools, there are a few centers, designed to perform specific and cutting-edge research, by the institute administration:

  1. Centre for Computer Research, Education and Services (CCRES)
  2. Director's Research Unit (DRU)
  3. Technical Research Center (TRC)
  4. Central Scientific Services (CSS)
  5. Raman Centre of Atomic, Molecular & Optical Sciences
  6. Polymer Structural Unit
  7. Energy Research Unit

Useful Links