Follow us

Exams & Colleges
Contact Us

Follow us

IISER Thiruvananthapuram

Mentors from here : 1
Selections in here : 23

Our Selection List:

Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Thiruvananthapuram (abbreviated as IISER Thiruvananthapuram or IISER-TVM) is an autonomous public university located in Thiruvananthapuram, India. The institute is one of the seven IISERs established by the Ministry of Human Resource Development, Government of India, to bridge the gap between research and basic sciences' education at the undergraduate level. The six other IISERs are IISER Bhopal, IISER Kolkata, IISER Mohali, IISER Pune, IISER Tirupati and IISER Berhampur. All IISERs were declared as Institutes of National Importance by the Parliament of India in 2012 through the NIT Amendment Act.

IISER Thiruvananthapuram is an autonomous institution that awards Bachelor of Science & Master of Science (BS-MS) dual-degrees, and Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D.) degrees in Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. IISER TVM is to offer five new BS-MS programmes (i2 Sciences) and new 2 year M.Sc programmes in 2021. The campus is located at Vithura, about 40 km from Thiruvananthapuram, the capital city of Kerala state in India.


Indian Institutes of Science Education and Research (IISERs) were established in 2006 through a proclamation of the Ministry of Education, Government of India to promote quality collegiate education and research in basic sciences. Each IISER is a degree-granting autonomous institution with a prime focus to integrate science education and research. IISERs receive generous funding from the Government of India.

Soon after MHRD's announcement in 2006, two of these institutes were established at Pune and Kolkata in 2006. This was followed by another institute at Mohali in 2007, and two more at Bhopal and Thiruvananthapuram in 2008.[10] More recently, two more IISERs were established at Tirupati and Berhampur in 2015 and 2016 respectively.


IISER TVM has one of the most beautiful campuses in India, located in the foothills of Western Ghats mountain ecosystem. Spanning around 200 acres, it is located 40 km from Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala.


DivisionDepartments, Centers, and Units
School of Biology[13][14][15]
School of Chemistry[16]
School of Mathematics[17]
School of Physics[18]

Academic programs

  1. Kishore Vaigyanik Protsahan Yojana (KVPY) Basic Science Stream: Students who possess KVPY scholarships (in SA / SX / SB streams) in the current admission year
  2. Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced): Students who secure a place in the common rank list of Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) for admission to Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs)
  3. State and Central Boards: Students who secure a specified cut-off percentage (published each year) in their Higher Secondary (Class 12) Board Exams may be considered for admission after clearing an aptitude test. This is currently done in co-ordination with the other IISERs through a Joint Admission Program.


Useful Links